Casa Babylon – Omelets and Atmosphere

15 Jun

Egg whites being a major source of fuel for me when at home, I went searching for some eggs yesterday. I came across Casa Babylon right across the street from Playa Zicatela. With a funky interior – intricately designed dome, walls of books and a good collection of Mexican masks – I hoped they put as much thought into their food as they had into the design of the place.

It turns out they do. The omelet verde was full of broccoli, peas and green beans and then topped with a tiny amount of spinach creme. It came with a side of raw carrots refreshingly dressed with lime juice and guacamole. There was also a side dish of with samples of homemade mayonnaise with garlic and spinach and chili oil, along with two different types of bread. (Watching my carbs and not being keen on the sweet and white breads common in Mexico I didn’t get into them).

The books are for exchange only plus 20 pesos. It would be difficult to find an egg white omelet in Mexico and so while there was a little more cheese going on than appealed to my healthy side, I definitely plan on going back at least once more both for the food and with a book to exchange.

Highly recommended!

Leave a comment